Ruapehu is the home of Tongariro National Park - a dual World Heritage area with year-round outdoor experiences in an outstanding volcanic environment.

The mountainous park with three active volcanoes - Ruapehu, Ngauruhoe and Tongariro - is recognised as a dual World Heritage Area for its treasured natural and intangible cultural values.
In 1887 - to protect their natural and spiritual heritage - Tongariro’s Ngati Tuwharetoa people gave their three sacred mountains to the New Zealand nation. Tongariro was the first national park gifted to a country by an indigenous people, and only the fourth national park established in the world.
Today, the 80,000ha park is enjoyed and explored year-round by hikers, cyclists, skiers, botanists, geologists and nature lovers alike.
Mt Ruapehu, New Zealand’s most famous volcano, has expansive ski areas including the world’s only ski field within 500m of an active volcanic crater.